What to put in your Wedding Shadow Box

shadowbox

Oh November, finally a time to get to some projects that I have been neglecting the past few months before the Holiday rush.

My friend Michelle put together a darling shadow box for her bayside wedding complete with flowers, paper goods and shells and I adored it. Being the sweetheart that she is, she picked up a shadow box for me from Marshalls (thanks Michelle!!!) .

You can also find shadow boxes at Michael’s, Hobby Lobby, Homegoods, TJ Max and of course, online. I used pearl stick pins and a little tape to secure my items to the box.

shadow box 2

I put the following in my shadow box-

My invitation – since it was a pocket invitation I wanted to display the outside monogram, the invitation itself, and the reception insert. For pocket invitations make sure to remove any extra inserts since they may fall out depending on which angle you hang the box.

My garter – Featuring my Alma Mater Clemson. LETS GO TIGERS!!

Groom’s boutonniere – The feathers attached to it  have started to come undone but I am surprised the whole thing survived the wedding day.

Embroidered handkerchief- My mother in law gave this to me on my wedding day with the wedding date.

shadow box 3

Need some inspiration for your own wedding shadow box?! Though you’d never ask, how about  . . .

Paper Goods – Invitation, save the date, menu, program, handwritten note from your beloved, various wedding stationary, place cards with your name on it.

Flowers – Groom’s boutonniere, flowers from your bouquet or various wedding arrangements.

Personal Items – Garter, jewelry you wore that day, handkerchief, hair adornments, piece of lace from attire.

Decor – Ribbon in your colors, cake topper, photos from your wedding.

From the venue – Any keepsake/decor from the venue such as seashells, driftwood, dried lavender sprigs, stones, dried flowers.

What did you put in your wedding shadow box?

Leave a Reply

